WW1 Drama ‘Gem’: A play inspired by the events of December 25th 1914. Sunday 23rd Nov. Cushendall Golf Club at 7.00pm. All Welcome.

Lurig Drama Group Presents: A historical drama based on the true events of Christmas Night 1914, when the SS Gem was sunk off Scarborough head, killing all but two of her crew.  The Captain and majority of the crew came from Cushendall, Carnlough and Glenarm in The Glens of Antrim. In association with The Living […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

GLENARM SOUP KITCHENS By Jimmy lrvine

  “This ends the Broth Shop. God save the King. And we pray the like calamitous time never again to see.”   Thus closed the financial accounts of the Glenarm Broth Shop on 28th August, 1817. The poignant supplication however, was not granted: exactly thirty years later Ireland was again in the grip of famine, […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Members’ emails

Some members have received suspicious email purporting to come from our info@antrimhistory.net address which claims that they have been sent ‘documents’ and this, accompanied by the GoogleDocs logo (triangular shape), appears quite convincing.  Can we ask that for the next few days you check your incoming mail carefully and mark as SPAM & delete unopened […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

November Lecture Friday 21st: Remembering Richard Hayward: An evening of music, story and film.

Hayward with bike in “The Luck of The Irish” (1935) Richard Hayward (1892-1964) was one of Ireland’s leading cultural figures from the middle years of the twentieth century. On the 50th anniversary of his death, the journalist and author Paul Clements looks back on his life and times, and at his connection to the Glens […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Ballintoy’s Hidden History

    On Saturday 2 February 2013 the society launched ‘ Ballintoy’s Hidden History’ funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund’s All Our Stories programme to explore and tell the story of three less well-known sites in the Ballintoy area, namely Templastragh Church, Ballintoy Castle and an eighteenth-century school at White Park Bay.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

The Glynns 2014 now available!

In a fresh new format, The Glynns 2014 is an attractive and informative addition to our ebooks range.  Containing detailed and illustrated articles on the history of the Glens of Antrim with a new special features section, the journal has proved very popular in hard copy and we anticipate the same response to this our […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Kelp Burning In The Glens of Antrim by Douglas Harper

By Douglas Harper   The burning of seaweed to make kelp was one of the oldest traditional industries to flourish round the coasts of Ireland.  For some it was their only livelihood; to most it was a seasonal occupation which brought them those little extras to make life more comfortable.  A new suit or frock […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Who Are We ?

  The Glens of Antrim Historical Society Office Bearers:   Chairperson: Mr Frank Rogers     Vice-Chair: Mr Iain Bradley      Secretary: Mr Dominic O’Loan       Treasurer: Miss Eileen Mc Auley         Contact Us: The Old Schoolhouse 25 Mill Street, Cushendall County Antrim BT44 0RR e-mail: antrimhistory@gmail.com Web address: www.antrimhistory.net   Telephone […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Terry Moylan: Archivist, Na Píobairí Uilleann

Terry Moylan started learning the pipes with Leo Rowsome in 1968. He became a member of Na Píobairí Uilleann the same year and has served on the committee of NPU since 1971. He is also one of the founding members of the Folk Music Society of Ireland in 1971 and has been on several occasions […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }

Some Place Names In The Parish Of Ballintoy

    Coolmaghery The corner of the plain. Knocksoghey The hill of the vessel (ship). Ballintoy The northern town. Larrybane The White site (of the fort). Carrickarede The rock of the passage (of the salmon). Portareevy The port of the dwarf. Magheracastle The plain of the Cashel (or stone fort). Lagavar The hollow of the […]

Continue Reading Comments { 0 }